solc21 #22 privet perfect

Every year I promise myself NOT to write about privet in March.

Yet it seems I write about the return of privet every year.

This lowly, naturalized shrub grows wild where I live. It is one of the first greens to show up every spring. Once the season progresses, with grass sprouting below and leaves filling in above, privet goes almost unnoticed.

Well, except when it blooms. A little privet is an intoxicating aroma. Too much blooming privet can be “cloying,” as Southern Living’s Grumpy Gardener says. Either way it is hard to miss then.

But after early spring and blooming season, it just quietly plays its backdrop role and highlights other growing things.

So this year I wasn’t going to write about privet…

But then… come another spring, when things start sprouting and singing that new life has arrived, the privet gets me every time.

How can I not notice, when it peeks at me over my fence and says, “I’m back!”

Indeed you are. Welcome, old friend!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!