faithful – solc 2019 #11

We have had RAIN! And DAYS of cloudy, gloomy weather, even when it wasn’t raining.

Outside our front door we have a solar-powered lantern. It hasn’t had much time to recharge lately. Yet on a day when we had downpours of drenching rain, over and over, I looked out that evening (as it was raining still) and saw this:

My first thought was, “How Faithful!”  This lantern has a job to do, and against all odds, it is doing it well.  Then I wondered, “Am I being faithful?”

My friend with a difficult medical diagnosis is depending on others showing faithfulness to care for her. Another young friend with a newborn in the NICU is missing the faithfulness of friends who have NOT called her. Our Bible study group has been meeting for 20 years, and the leader epitomizes faithfulness.

Am I doing the job(s) I have to do, and doing it (them) well? Am I being spiritually faithful, and caring for family, and checking in with friends, and keeping house as I should?  And am I lighting the way with joy and smiles?

Our Father has great faithfulness: morning by morning new mercies I see. He can help me to be more faithful.

Thank you, little light of mine, for shining your steadfast light.

 

 

7 thoughts on “faithful – solc 2019 #11

  1. kimashworth says:

    Such a great reminder to stay true to others and keep relationships strong.

  2. Ramona says:

    I love this meditation on faithfulness & the steadiness of your little light. We would love for you to join our Spiritual Journey First Thursday group. Irene Latham at Live Your Poem sees to our monthly schedule. Come join us!

  3. Before I read your last line, I was thinking, “This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine.” What a great message in a world where sometimes it’s hard to shine our light and to help ignite the light in others!

  4. arjeha says:

    Sometimes all it takes is a gentle reminder to get us thinking and alter our path. That little light is a beacon.

  5. This made me so happy. Thank you for reminding me to light “the way with joy and smiles.”

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!