giving thanks #19

My thankfulness continues into the new year.

Many years ago, an acquaintance of mine found herself unable to stay at home for any length of time, especially by herself. She was dealing with some other issues in her life, but I remember thinking how disheartening it would be to not enjoy being at home. I have always found home to be the place where I can relax, regroup, rejoice, and rethink. Home is where I find myself again.

Perhaps I have spent too much time and energy making our home(s) into a place of comfort and peace, making choices of what I considered to be the right furniture, accessories, arrangements of pieces, paint colors, and lighting. Even with limited budgets I have been blessed to find the things that “fit” our family and make our house a welcoming place. When I suggest changes and movements (much to the chagrin of my husband who has to do the heavy lifting), it is because I know it will be just a bit better with a different look and feel. I firmly believe you have to live in a place for a while before you really truly know where things belong. I do love reading about design in magazines and online, and I have forever kept folders of rooms I would like to emulate in our own personal way. I have lost some of the confidence (or daring?) of youth, and I do find myself questioning my preferences and choices more than in the past – maybe because now there are SO MANY things to choose from! But one thing hasn’t changed – when I walk into a room at our home or at someone else’s, I love the feeling of the space when it is both beautiful and serene.

Home is the place that lets you be you. Home should wrap its arms around you and let you know that you are loved. Home is my happy place.

I am so thankful.

3 thoughts on “giving thanks #19

  1. I loved your post today. Home. It means so much to most of us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Happy Writing!

  2. elsie says:

    A beautiful description of home. It should be a place that is just right for you.

  3. Raivenne says:

    Absolutely agree, home should be the place that lets you feel free to be you. Where you can find that peace inner and outer.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!