driving in the rain at night – solsc#17

I hate to drive in the rain at night.

Other people drive as though there is no water on the road, no splashing of puddles on windshields, no possibility of hydroplaning. Not me. I drive terribly slowly in the rain.

I hate to drive in the rain at night.

Other people must be able to see the lines on the road that divide the lanes. Not me. These marks become invisible to my eyes, blurred with reflections and shadows.

I hate to drive in the rain at night.

Other people might not even use windshield wipers. Not me. These blades can’t be fast or sweeping enough for me, yet sometimes even their motion is distracting as well.

I hate to drive in the rain at night.

Other people may feel an adrenaline rush, darting among spaces and openings freely and easily. Not me. I am tensed up and deliberate, watching for danger on all sides.

 

And yet…

There is beauty while driving in the rain at night.

Glowing illuminations that can’t be missed:

photo 2

 

There is beauty while driving in the rain at night.

Cascades of color that sweep down the road:

photo 1

 

There is beauty while driving in the rain at night.

Watercolor impressions of movement and light.

photo 3

 

There is beauty while driving in the rain at night.

Shimmering reflections that brighten the dark:

photo 4

 

However…

Even though there is beauty…, still, I hate to drive in the rain at night.

 

4 thoughts on “driving in the rain at night – solsc#17

  1. Your pictures add so much to your writing. I hate driving in the rain at night too.

  2. arlsvera says:

    I like your writing style. The repetition is quite effective. (and I don’t like driving in the rain at night either!)

  3. There are many elements to your piece that appeal to me as a reader, writer and photographer. The use of repetition is effectively applied in your piece. I also enjoyed the contrasting viewpoints you offer. Your position in relation to night driving is clearly stated, yet you are able to deliver an alternate perspective through words, Those words are given added gravitas through the effective use of photographs to highlight the beauty of light, line and colour. All these various elements combine to create a highly effective piece. So well constructed.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!