breath of spring

Today is my mother’s birthday. She would have been 93 this year. She couldn’t have been born on a more appropriate day.

Mama was light, and mirth, and joy. She was happiness, enthusiasm, and energy.

She was creative, and stylish, and young at heart – even when she was old.

My mother was a breath of fresh air, an encourager, and a promoter.

She was loyalty, and determination, and depth.

 

Happy Birthday, Mama. Thank you for bringing the new life of Spring into our lives all year long, and throughout all your years. I love you.

7 thoughts on “breath of spring

  1. Terje says:

    Your writing is beautiful. So beautiful.

  2. Judy C. says:

    Your mother sounds like she was a wonderful, caring woman. Your tribute to her is special. Thanks for sharing your breathe of spring today.

  3. b says:

    You do so many things so well in this piece…such a special piece. I love the descriptors in threes. Threes are significant…your mama is significant. 🙂 Such beautiful descriptors at that. I also like the way you connect her to spring…something we all know, when we didn’t all get the pleasure of knowing her. Because of this connection, I begin to understand a little bit more about the ways your mama impacted you. What a celebration! b

  4. Linda Baie says:

    So lovely to hear about your mom. I still miss mine too. What a wonderful day to have one’s birth-day!

  5. What a lovely tribute to your mom. This is absolutely beautiful. 🙂

  6. GirlGriot says:

    What a beautiful birthday tribute for your mother. She sounds lovely. Thank you for sharing a little of her with us.
    ~Stacie

  7. Jaana says:

    Wonderful memory. I miss mine every day.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!