spring magic

Tomorrow is the first day of spring, but lately it doesn’t seem like spring. It has been cold, and gloomy, and blustery, and wet. Ugh! Now, finally, the weather has taken a turn for the better today. And so have my spirits.

Seems I have to have visual and other proof that spring really is on the way. And once I get a taste of it I think there’s no turning back to winter allowed. Shame on me.

I should know that change takes time. And it rarely moves in a constant forward march. There are stops and starts, a few curves and switchbacks, and sometimes second thoughts. But still, change is taking place.

The birds know spring is coming. They are here in larger numbers, searching for nest building materials, singing their songs. The grass knows it, too, gradually sprouting and turning green.

The buttercups know the seasons are turning. They are blooming and glowing even on the cloudy days. The lilies are sending up their green leaves, and the trees are budding, despite the cold.

Nature doesn’t have – or need – a calendar to know that winter is packing and getting ready to leave. I should know it, too. Instead of grousing about the remnants of the cold, I should dwell on all the signs that spring is on the way.

Remembering that change takes time, I’ll be patient yet confident that the miracles of new life are happening all around me. That’s the magic – and the mystery – of spring.

4 thoughts on “spring magic

  1. marc-aureled says:

    Thank you for the reminder… spring IS coming!

  2. “Remembering that change takes time, I’ll be patient yet confident that the miracles of new life are happening all around me. That’s the magic – and the mystery – of spring.” I needed this reminder today. 🙂

  3. elsie says:

    I like the way you walked through this, it seemed like you were talking to yourself to remind yourself of the process.

  4. Tam says:

    Ah, sweet mystery of spring. Reading about spring helps because it is coming so slowly this year. Wish I had buttercups!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

