solc22 #29 how to name a dog

One of the things we most look forward to about moving into our remodeled house is being close to the neighbors. They are actually the reason we found out about the house in the first place. And since that time they have done countless kind things for us. Already! And we have not even moved in.

In addition to being very thoughtful, they are also very funny. One of my favorite stories (so far) is how they named their dog.

Over the years they have had several Australian Terriers. This is a breed I was not familiar with, and is best described as a Westie or Scottie look-alike, but with deep golden brown hair. When their last dog passed away, and they got a new puppy, of course they had to decide what to call him.

“I know,” said Carol. “Let’s each make a list of five names that we like. Then we will compare the lists, and if we both have the same name listed, that’s what we’ll name our new puppy!” Roger agreed, and they wrote down their selections.

When they compared their ideas, the name Champ appeared on both papers.

“Great,” said Carol. “We’ll name him Opie!”

We look forward to being Opie’s neighbor, too.

A good name is better than precious ointment. Ecclesiastes 7:1

2 thoughts on “solc22 #29 how to name a dog

  1. This gave me flashbacks to naming my kids! HA My husband and I could not agree on names. I did kind of get the final say, especially by the 3rd one! 🙂

  2. tellio says:

    love the hinting that the last bit of dialog suggests.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!