solc22 #17 time for a change

Today in Tennessee is a beautiful “almost Spring” day, and the weather prompted me to look beyond my typical black pants and heavy sweaters for something more uplifting to wear.

We are staying at our lake cabin while we remodel an older house which will become our home. Space is limited so my “other season closet” consists of a stack of clothes, still on hangers, laid across the bed in the extra room.

I was able to find a few things to pull out and place in my regular closet to brighten my wardrobe in the still cool days ahead. And as I looked through the other things – sleeveless tops and brightly colored attire – I smiled. And I also wondered who that person was that wore those clothes and where she had gone.

The winter has been so cold and gloomy, with sickness and isolation, and we are definitely “out of place” in our living arrangements. The memories of that shorts-clad tanned woman last year is rather dim right now.

Ah, but hope springs eternal, and I know those carefree days are soon to come. That is good news – it is most definitely time for a change.

And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  Matthew 6:28-29

2 thoughts on “solc22 #17 time for a change

  1. I’ve been eagerly anticipating the warmer temps too. That said, I”ve tried to incorporate more bright colors into my wardrobe ever since I read Ingrid Fetell Lee’s book, JOYFUL. Wearing less black and more bright pops of color has led me to feel a bit happier during the coldest of months.

  2. Amanda Potts says:

    “those carefree days are soon to come.” Yes! Spring helps me every year – I’m glad you have something (things!) to look forward to.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!