solc21 #13 one more thing

I’ve been pondering about social media sites and the real value of expressing one’s opinions. And trying to weigh the worth of all this.

Our daughter has taken herself off Facebook and Instagram to get away from the mindless chatter, thoughtless diatribes, and constant “keeping up with the Jones” attitudes.

She says it has freed her time and her mind to devote to much more meaningful pursuits.  I am so very proud of her!

God desires for us to dwell in Him, not on our screens.

Recently she signed back in for a brief moment and posted what you see below. Those are her children in the picture, by the way, some of the main ways she redirects her now-free time.

I love what she said, and the spirit in which she said it. The best way I can share it is just to repost it here:

3 thoughts on “solc21 #13 one more thing

  1. jarhartz says:

    Algorithms with the intent to keep you clicking on take us off our course. I worry for our kids and their kids. So important to have the strength to balance it.

  2. Anita Ferreri says:

    I have a love/hate relationship with social media as well. It can be consuming and is often fake or at least not a full perspective of real life. I with I could keep up with distant friends and family and skip the keeping up with the Jones’s perspective that seems to take over as I see people eating out, vacationing …while I search for vaccines….

  3. Fran Haley says:

    The word I note over and over in your daughter’s beautiful post is “free.” I scaled back from social media some time ago to free myself from the vitriol and vindictiveness there. After a while, you realize just how much it’s pulling you down. I haven’t even wanted to put my writing out there on social media; it’s too precious to me. I still check in for the positive stories and helpful things, however – like this post, which is a balm to the spirit. Thank you.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!