solc21 #2 looking down

Our world today is quite different from March 2 of last year. How things have changed! I am glad I did not have a crystal ball to see the future. Dealing with one day at a time has been more than enough.

There is no need for me to even try to describe what we have all witnessed.  What we have felt. What we have mourned. What we have learned. Actually it is different for each of us.  And I have found it all so heavy that I have been unable to write about it. Living through it all was challenging enough.

So, moving on, here we are at today. I regret so many outcomes, and wish for many things to improve.

One of the main things that bothers me is how we treat each other. There is little room for civil discourse, and even when one tries to listen, preconceived notions keep us from hearing well.  I am guilty of this.

If one is honest with oneself, I believe we all are guilty to some degree.

There are so many conversations, speeches, addresses, etc., that I hear these days – most are pushing their agenda and trying to make you, the uninformed, understand. The hardest part for me to accept is the condescension that is omnipresent.

It’s in the nod of the head, the repeated words, the slow, careful, deliberate speech.

It’s coming from both sides of any argument.

It’s implying a lack of patience, and little understanding for walking in another’s shoes.

It’s time we stop this. We can all move forward more successfully if we choose to do it together.

It’s about looking ahead to the better days that await, instead of looking down on those around us.

We can ALL do better.

5 thoughts on “solc21 #2 looking down

  1. kimjohnson66 says:

    I agree – we can all do better, and we can all be better listeners who consciously make efforts to put our preconceived notions to the side and give it all a fair go.

  2. rissa says:

    We can.. thanks for the encouragement.

  3. LindaG. says:

    Yes! This reminds me of the fact that I had many conversations with my mom before I realized she got so “hot” because her idea of a conversation was her telling me something and me agreeing. She didn’t listen, really, to what I was saying. We all need to stop & listen to each other better. Thanks for putting it into words.

  4. VanessaVaile says:

    Maybe we can write about it eventually. Not only are we still processing the past, but we’re also waiting out the prospect of long range deep changes. All in our time…not necessarily on a timetable prescribed by others…but in cognizant of others waiting for their right time and listening to each other.

    I so agree about the condescension from both sides — control and silencing strategies wearing concern masks.

  5. We certainly can always all do better. Maybe that last line is the key. Very rarely are we all aware of all perspectives. When we remain open we often remain in a learning mode as opposed to a closed shield comforted by confirmed thinking.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!