lucky day – solc 2019 #17

“St. Patrick’s Day is an enchanted time – a day to begin transforming winter’s dreams into summer’s magic.” A. Cook

It is a beautiful day here in Tennessee, with a splendid forecast for a dry week with lots of sun. I’d say the luck of the Irish has come our way.

St. Patrick’s Day is such a festive time to me, and I am neither Irish (well probably I am a little bit- aren’t we all?) nor Catholic. But I love the joyous spirit of the day, and the hints of magical highjinks, and the promise of a rainbow with that elusive pot o’ gold at the end.  I loved “Darby O’Gill and the Little People” as a child, and I showed my classrooms how to do an Irish jig when I was teaching. I still display a leprechaun or two in my home today.

The shamrock typically has three leaves – one each for faith, hope, and love.  If there’s a fourth, then that’s for luck!

It is such a day of good will and friendship! What’s better than that?  Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you all!

A wish that every day for you

will be happy from the start

and may you always have good luck

and a song within your heart. 

Irish Blessing

4 thoughts on “lucky day – solc 2019 #17

  1. Erin Bradley says:

    Love the Irish blessing! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

  2. greenelit says:

    I used to LOVE Darby O’Gill and the Little People and no one ever knows what I’m talking about when I reference it! I feel like I just found a unicorn!!

  3. Cara Wegrzyn says:

    St. Patrick’s Day does turn many people Irish, even if just for the day. 🙂
    We all need a bit of luck to find it’s way to us. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Fran Haley says:

    So full of cheer – the shamrock photo is beautiful – and I am smiling at “aren’t we all” a little Irish. You may be right! This was a delight to read. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!