dear mrs. martin – SOLC Tuesday

Dear Mrs. Martin,

Thank you for keeping our children when they were little.

At the time, my husband and I both needed to work, not for extras, but for necessities.  So you provided arms of love for them during the day.  What a gift.

I have thought of you often recently. Our granddaughter has wonderful teachers at her preschool. Like you did with our two, these caregivers have a profound influence on her young mind and heart.  Seeing this has reminded me how grateful I still am for you.

Our daughter has begun potty training with our granddaughter. Both my husband and I have few memories of this adventure with our children, probably because it was you who bore the brunt of that experience. Again, we are so very thankful for ALL that you meant to our family, in so many ways.

How many babies did you rock?  How many diapers did you change? How many children did you feed, and put down for naps, and read to, and love on? Only God knows for sure, but we were so blessed that our children were among the many little ones that you touched. And you blessed our grownup hearts as well.

We all knew you were a saint on earth, and for several years now you have been in heaven among God’s angels.  I know that He has you standing ready, to be the first to hold and rock those sweet souls that leave this world too soon. I know you give them all the love you gave our children here on earth.

And once again I thank you for your loving care.

Love, JeNan

4 thoughts on “dear mrs. martin – SOLC Tuesday

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    This made me cry. Especially at the end. What a lovely tribute to a lady who was such a blessing.

  2. A sweet tribute. Glad she was there. You make us also think of the special angels we have known who cared for our children. I love Miz Mayme, who rocked several generations of babies in our church nursery.

  3. carwilc says:

    These substitute moms are so, so special to our families and you’ve captured it perfectly. So thankful for Christina who loved my boys when I couldn’t be there. And like Kathleen, your last paragraph made me cry.

  4. Donna Smith says:

    So many people go in and out of our lives, and the angels amongst us, you remind us to thank while we can. Thank you.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!