stars – SOLC Tuesday

We have one grandchild, little Madison, who holds our hearts in her sweet smile, her cheerful giggles, her clever way of analyzing things, and her precious hugs and kisses.

I was never one to long for grandchildren. Others would speak of theirs and I would think, “That’s nice,” but honestly I never wished for one of our own. I always thought they would come, in time.

And then came Madison. She is my world these days. I can’t seem to get enough of this precious child.

I am so silly over her that I have wondered if I could ever love another child as much as I do her. But both of our children let us know they would like to have a new baby. And so I wondered… how would that be?

One night at dinner our son and daughter-in-law shared the wonderful news that they were expecting. The timing took us by surprise – but we were so thrilled and thankful. I cannot wait!

Truth be told, on our way home, I did think about sharing my love for Madison with another grandchild. But now, that didn’t seem to be a problem anymore. I know how love multiplies when there are new hearts to love.

And just to solidify that way of thinking, I happened to look up at the sky when we got home. There were so many bright stars, each as brilliant as beautiful as the others.

Each one special, all of them unique.  Just like our grandchildren will all be!

Soon we learned that our daughter is expecting, too. Madison will be a big sister. And we will have two new little ones to dote on in November.

But Madison need not worry. I know that we have plenty of love to go around.

And so much to be thankful for!

9 thoughts on “stars – SOLC Tuesday

  1. Terje says:

    How exciting! “Love multiplies when there are new hearts to love” -very well said

  2. elsie says:

    There is always enough love. Congratulations to you and all the expecting moms in your world.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    I am longing for grandchildren. My two older daughters got married this year, 6 months apart. Neither one is talking about getting pregnant, yet. I’m a bit pesty about it. I am ready to share my love. Remember how when you had your first child, you thought you could never love another child as much. What happened? Yeah, I thought so. There’s never too much love.

  4. mbhmaine says:

    Lovely! Congratulations to all of you.

  5. blkdrama says:

    Love the flood of new children. I’ve been lucky to have family share theirs with me.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

