giving thanks #22

Daily thankfulness is good for the soul. 

As I understand it, God’s glory is the manifestation of His being, giving us a recognition of His presence.  His radiant glory is best seen in His Son, Jesus. (Hebrews 1:3)  However, we cannot look at God Himself, as He is too bright, too powerful, too much for us to see and live.  So I am thankful for the visions and glimpses of His glory that He does provide for us to experience.

When I look at sunlight reflected on the water, I am reminded of God’s glory.  It is beautiful with its brilliance, alive with its rhythm and flow, comforting with its peace and assurance, and inspiring with its energy and movement. Just as it is a reflection of the true source of light, the sun, it reminds me of the true seat of glory, God Himself.  And when too much of it gathers in one spot, its radiance is impossible to look at directly.  Always, my heart stills and my soul fills when I am surrounded by this light.

image

It has taken me many years to even begin to understand the might and power of God.  His Light is too much for me to fully take in, but the glimpses of His glory that He sends my way remind me of His infinite love.

I am so thankful.

 

3 thoughts on “giving thanks #22

  1. emily1103 says:

    I think there are few times when the beauty of God’s glory is more manifest than in spring! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. Alice Nine says:

    Amen, amen!
    O Lord, my God, when I in awesome wonder, Consider all the works Thy hands have made …Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee, How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

  3. Donna Smith says:

    Beautiful reflective piece!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!