SOLC24 #12 expertise

We were with our 6 year old grandson after school the other day and he wanted to put a new Lego together.

I had seen these – Lego Technic. They have MANY pieces. Our son told us that Grayson loves putting them together but he does need help. Just someone to keep him on course. I asked my husband if he was up for the challenge, and Pops said yes.

So they got to work. Grayson had obviously done this before as he asked for bowls to put the pieces in when we opened the “three bags full.” There were TWO instruction booklets (“constructions” in Grayson speak), so he opened #1 and started looking for the pieces on the first page.

Here was my view from across the table:

As I listened to their conversation, I heard things like:

“Can you find a piece that looks like this?” (Pops)

“We need two of these.” (Grayson) “No we don’t.” (Pops) “Oh wait, yes we do.” (Pops)

“Turn the book and look at this just like you see it in the book – so you add that piece here.” (Pops) “Well, maybe it DOES go over there.” (Pops)

“I think this might be upside down.” (Grayson)

I would like to know how the conversation goes when our son works with him on Legos. It is a big, complicated project, for sure. But from watching Grayson, I could see both patience and expertise. Good job, Buddy. Glad we didn’t get in your way.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!