solc22 #12 small town thoughts

Generally I like to write about topics I have definite thoughts about, or something on which I feel like I have gained insight. However, today I am just rambling.

I grew up in a small town that is no more. I lived in East Nashville/Inglewood, and back then it really was a small town, but today it is almost unrecognizable, part of the “It City” of Nashville.

My college years were spent in the small town of Cookeville, Tennessee, but that area has grown also. One big then/now comparison is the limited dining out availability back in the 1970’s, versus the long strip of “restaurant row” choices along the interstate today.

My first years of marriage were spent in Columbia, which was indeed a small town. That is, until General Motors built their new car plant there. Not growing up there, we were always outsiders – until Saturn came along.

We then moved to Franklin, which at that time was already moving out of the small town description, but has certainly far surpassed that in the twenty plus years we have lived there. Even relative newcomers like us “remember when” it was much smaller with nostalgia.

We are remodeling an old home there now and are living in our small cabin at the lake, in Winchester. This remains a small town, although being here for longer periods of time recently has allowed us to explore new areas and we can see that it is growing as well.

There are certain downsides to a small town for sure, such as the lack of retail and dining options. But there are many benefits, too – a sense of community, better service in stores, and a feeling of belonging.

On my first trip to New York City, as a participant in Scholastic Book Company’s teacher advisory board, I was told by residents that I met there that NYC was really just a lot of small towns very close to one another. I am sure that it felt that way to someone who was able to find his or her community to relate to and be familiar with. But we all know there is a big difference between a corner of Manhattan and a real small town.

So again, no insight here, just pondering about these differences. And maybe realizing that belonging is the key, no matter the size of your town or city.


Their children will be as in days of old, and their community will be established before me. Jeremiah 30:20

3 thoughts on “solc22 #12 small town thoughts

  1. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    My sister lives in Murfreesboro. When they first moved down there back in 1984, I considered it a “big city” compared to where I come from. It continues to grow! Each time we go to visit, it seems new retail and businesses and housing are going up. I love that area.

  2. My brother lives in a small town in Illinois, and he knows his neighbors very well. I live in a Chicago ‘burb with 70K people and only know a few neighbors. I think I have some connecting to do!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!