solc22 #6 restored

The covid/control shutdowns changed a lot of things in our world, but one restriction I never thought I would see was the closing of churches. In America. Unbelievable – but it happened.

So my heart was full when the church reopened. My husband and I returned joyfully.

Unfortunately the church we attended did not welcome us joyfully. There were so many manmade restrictions and protocols in place that it was hard to see God there. So, because we had already had some previous additional questions and concerns about our presence in that congregation, we decided to find another church.

(I should say that the church we left had been a wonderful home for us for several years, meeting our needs as well as allowing us to become involved and serve others. But things and people change, and this experience was the assurance that it was time to move on.)

Fortunately, we have a friend who had listened to our prior concerns and had been encouraging us to attend her church for a while. At last, we decided to take her up on her invitations and we visited her church. We felt at home there from the first day.

The difference there was evident. Here was a church that focused on God and His might and power, and His redemption. Not on man’s ideas of what should or shouldn’t be done, although there was much evidence of prayerful planning for the services.

And while the Bible-based sermon messages have been both encouraging and challenging at the same time, what has spoken most to my heart is the music.

I have been blessed throughout my life to have worship ministers who have used their talents to usher in God’s presence through music, and to lead worshipers in true praise of Him. I didn’t realize how much I had missed that until I experienced it again.

Funny, at the former church we always attended the “traditional” service because of the music. Here at our new church, the music is more blended than traditional, but there is always one “old hymn.” Plus the service is always ended by the singing of the version of the Doxology that I grew up with. The remainder of the more current music is not “7-11” choruses with little substance, but songs that have beautiful melodies and spiritually enriching lyrics.

I thank the Lord for leading us to where He knew we would more fully experience the love He has for us. What a blessing! Praise God from Whom all blessings flow!

Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Psalm 51:12

One thought on “solc22 #6 restored

  1. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    What a wonderful gift to find a new church that has welcomed you. God is good!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!