spring delight – solc2018#20

The first day of spring is encouraging for many folks, for many reasons. It holds the promise of better days – warmth, growth, and delightful surprises.

The first day of spring, to me, is a reminder of my mother. Today would have been her 97th birthday. She has been in heaven for 15 years, but in so many ways, she is still here with us.

My mother was a milliner – she made hats. She LOVED hats. And she loved people.

Last fall a friend emailed me that she was going to an estate sale the next day that was featuring some of my mother’s hats. She sent me the online link with pictures. This friend thought the world of my mother, and she was going to get one of the hats for her daughter, who also remembered my mother fondly.

Our family doesn’t have many of Mama’s hats, and my daughter has been wanting one of her own. But sadly, I couldn’t go to this sale. I stewed about it overnight, and the next morning I texted the number listed for the person in charge of the sale.

I can’t come to your estate sale today, but Orcelia was my mother and we don’t have many of her hats. I would love to get one for my daughter. If there are any left after the sale, please let me know.

Immediately there was this response:

Really? That is great. Which hat would you like me to check on for you? I’ll be glad to keep it back for you.

The sale was starting in 15 minutes. I couldn’t believe this unknown woman was willing to help me at this busy time!

Long story short, she kept the white straw with the big brim and the flower trim. AND it was in the original box with Mama’s logo on it. This kind soul met me a few weeks later at the site of another sale she was preparing. She would not let me pay her for the hat. Bad karma, she said.

At Christmas, my daughter opened the mysterious big box – and loved the hat! She looks gorgeous with it on. She’s been planning the outfit she will wear with it to the races this spring.

Oh, Mama. You know how to delight us still.

Of course you were born on the first day of spring.

3 thoughts on “spring delight – solc2018#20

  1. J Koval says:

    What a beautiful memory! I’m so glad you were able to get one of your mother’s hats for your daughter. Kudos to the woman. 🙂 ~JudyK

  2. caroline524 says:

    What a beautiful memory. My grandfather was known for always wearing hats and I made sure to keep one. It always puts a smile on my face and in my heart.

  3. Ameliasb says:

    You are lucky to have secured such a treasure. What a gift – in so many ways.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!