memory – solc2018#17

As I have aged, I find that my memory isn’t what it once was.

This used to trouble me greatly.

I taught at a school about 20 years ago with a PE teacher who had been MY teacher in high school. She had a few years on me. Even back then, I was noticing my memory lapses (a word, a name, the end of a story I was telling), and I once complained about this to her.

I have remembered what she said ever since. (So I guess I have some memory left after all.)

She compared the memory part of our brains to a filing cabinet. (I suppose these days it should be a computer filing system.) She said those memories were all in there, it was just hard to find the right folder (access the correct file) them when we needed it. This eased my troubles a bit.

So I am hoping the things I forget are still around, and will surface when most needed. If I dig deep enough.

Also, sometimes I recall things very vividly. And yet, when comparing notes with others, or when looking at pictures, I find that my memories are a bit skewed. Really?  They seemed so clear…

Today we are making a day trip to a lake where we once owned a house. We want to see how things look now (before all the leaves come out on the trees). There were two houses being built down the cove from us that looked like they were going to be quite nice. We want to see how they turned out. And of course we are curious to see our old cabin.

We haven’t been in two+ years.  So I wonder if my memory will serve me correctly? We shall see!

15 thoughts on “memory – solc2018#17

  1. Ameliasb says:

    This is a good reminder for me – that everything is there, just maybe not accessible. My husband and I, who are both “word” people are just so frustrated that this file seems to be the most corrupted! Maybe or constant efforts to access have let a virus in. Have a good trip to a real memory lane.

  2. Ameliasb says:

    Maybe “our”…

  3. Suzanne says:

    Very interesting thoughts on memory. It’s funny because I just this morning talked about memory with my mom, who at 81, is concerned others may judge her based on what she feels she can’t remember (like directions to places). It’s a hot topic, especially when you are in the midst of remembering just how good your memory might be! Enjoy your trip down this avenue of memory lane.

  4. I like the analogy of thinking about our memories as a filing cabinet. It makes me feel a little bit better too, because I have the same problem. It’s frustrating at times, but it’s good to know others are in the same boat.

  5. jennysrich says:

    My mom always says that you don’t have to worry if you forget a phone number, worry if you forget what the phone is used for…

  6. onathought says:

    I have always had a horrible memory – I like the idea of memories as a file cabinet… I need to figure out where the key to my file cabinet is!

  7. rosecappelli says:

    I hope your experience is just what you hope it will be, and filled with sweet memories.

  8. Donna Smith says:

    I just want to remember my name! Teaching and having kids are what I blame for a lot of it. I’d start a story, but with kids around I hardly ever got to finish it. So even now I find my self hesitating mid story waiting for the interruption, which itself becomes distracting! I’m think to myself “hey, I’m still talking…” and forget what I was saying!
    Enjoy your day reminiscing! I’m sure you will be pleased with what you remember!

  9. bjdonaldson says:

    I also hold the the theory that there is only so much storage in the filing system. If too much goes in. something flies out. Have fun revisiting your cabin.

  10. Do you know the Billy Collins poem “Forgetfulness”? It’s a wonderful poem about memory. Mine isn’t what it used to be either, and I worry about this as I think about moving when I retire next year.

    Hope you enjoyed driving down memory lane and found the cabin in good order.

    • I just looked up the poem. Oh my goodness it is so true! Thank you for sharing it.
      My experience with retirement is that memory improved a bit, as there are so many things I no longer need to dwell on.

  11. rdicarne says:

    I hear ya!! My mom use to tell me that I just had too much going on in my life, but I worry. Hope your trip brings back tons of great memories.

  12. aggiekesler says:

    Nice reflective slice on memory! I find that even if I don’t feel like I’ve forgotten any details, often people who experienced the same thing remember it differently than I do. It’s all based on perspective. Hope you remember the cabin!

  13. I hope you had a great trip. I’m sure memories and feelings came back as you drove.

  14. […] I discussed in a previous post, my memory isn’t what it used to be, so I Googled this […]

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!