a hard day – solc2018#7

Nashville had a hard day yesterday. The first woman mayor resigned. You can Google the details. It was a resolution that everyone saw coming – except maybe the mayor herself.

A few weeks back my aunt asked me, “Do you think the mayor should resign?”

My answer? “She has done morally wrong things in her personal life, but as countless others have done that before her, then that, in and of itself, is not cause to resign. She has kept numerous activities secret for almost two years and now has lied about various details as evidence has come to light. But she is not the first lying leader. However, the problem is, going forward, it is doubtful that she can effectively lead because of the questions of trust that have arisen. If she cannot be a good leader for our city, then she should resign.”

After weeks of saying she would not resign her office, suddenly and without specific details, she plead guilty to a felony and resigned, declaring her continued love of the city. I believe she does love Nashville.

I just wish her love was deep enough, beyond her own personal problems, that she had offered an apology to the people of Nashville.

Nashville had a hard day yesterday.

 

 

4 thoughts on “a hard day – solc2018#7

  1. Joanne Toft says:

    So sorry for you – I saw this on the news. Things like this throw a city off balance. I hope the pieces can be picked up and put back in place quickly. Thinking of you!

  2. vicki s says:

    It’s getting old, less than honorable politicians and leaders. I feel like there are unspoken rules that these people can live and work by yet the majority of us work diligently at being the best citizens we can be. I don’t know for sure right/wrong about her resignation but I am glad that misdeeds of those leading us are brought to the publics attention. Discussing these occurrences is a step in the right direction.

  3. Alice Nine says:

    Heartbreaking. A principal whom I admired contracted with me for PD over the course of several years. Then one day, detectives called me… Long-short of it, she had forged my name on documents to cover up embezzlement of school funds. It was like a knife in my gut, made me physically sick. She told me… “I didn’t mean for it to happen.”

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!