a simple reminder – SOLC 2017 #25

Last fall is was our privilege to host the rehearsal dinner for our friend’s son. There are many reasons why this was a special opportunity for us, but suffice it to say that this friend is a treasure.

So we set to work to get our house and yard in order for the 70+ guests. One of the things I did to prepare for the party was “refresh” the plants in my outdoor pots. (That means I mostly threw out many of the spindly, ragged specimens and purchased new ones. These are not easy to find in early fall.)

One pot I filled with two beautiful “coral bell” plants. The lime green and plum were a perfect combination. This pot hung on our porch, and I was pleased to note during our warm winter that it never died. Recently it has begun its spring growth, and is looking better than ever.

Now when I look at this plant, it reminds me of that fun evening (with no rain – an answer to prayer!), and the cute couple celebrating their marriage, and mostly our sweet friend who was so pleased with how things turned out.

I am thankful for the privilege we had to do what friends do.

7 thoughts on “a simple reminder – SOLC 2017 #25

  1. Lisa says:

    I love this beautiful reminder of a special day. You are truly great friends – thank you for that seeet slice!

  2. Alice Nine says:

    How wonderful that one of the pots survived to remind you of the joy of that evening. I love your take on “privilege.” I’m hoping to tend to some of my flowerbeds this week. I enjoy it because there are memories associated with the plants, and of course there is satisfaction in doing the job.

  3. Ramona says:

    What fun to have this reminder of the special evening you were privileged to host. It’s so fun that it survived your winter and is looking good this spring!

  4. bhamteach says:

    I would take a guess that your son’s friend is more than a friend to you…he is more like family. It is the doing for others that gives us the most pleasure and now you have a lovely reminder of that.

  5. Tim Gels says:

    Wow, what a great way to keep a special time fresh in your memory–thanks for sharing it with us!

  6. mrssurridge says:

    How kind to host someone else’s wedding! I can say that when I have things at my house I take weeks to prepare. It’s a big job, but I’m usually happy with the improvements I’ve made. Your plant is gorgeous.

  7. Being the sort of person who gives something so special is the kind of person I want to know 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

