a good place to be – SOLC 2017 #3

My parents raised me to be independent and resourceful. Any self-confidence I have was planted and nurtured by my mother and father, who believed so strongly in who I am, and in who I was meant to be.

The power of this gift wasn’t apparent to me until I encountered so many people along the way who never had this support, and suffered from their lack of self-assurance. How crippling that can be.

My church youth group and my high school environment reinforced in me the desire to move forward, convincing me to believe I could accomplish the things I dreamed of doing. So I pushed forward and carried on.

There have certainly been roadblocks and missed turns in my life, and stalls that came from lack of fuel and desire. But I remain thankful for the promises kept and the goods that have been delivered.

Yet now I see things from a different perspective. Life sharpens our vision and deepens our understandings (finally!) It really isn’t about my hopes, my abilities, or my accomplishments. I finally am learning where the true joy abides.

front-yard-2

Because You are my help,
    I sing in the shadow of Your wings. Psalm 63:7

Thank You, Lord, for Your wings of protection.

And for allowing me to sing.

5 thoughts on “a good place to be – SOLC 2017 #3

  1. Terje says:

    You have found joy and understanding – this is indeed a good place to be at.

  2. peteacher1 says:

    I, too, have realized over the years that not everyone was granted such wonderful teachers as parents and support systems. What a positive message – you were given a good foundation which doesn’t prohibit you from making some not-so-favorable choices at time, but you can always count on your higher power. Love it! Good reminder – thanks!

  3. Embekka says:

    Amen. Thank you for sharing this. I am glad that you have found your joy. It is often rare for being to come to the insights in which you have.

  4. elsie says:

    Some people never find that true joy, you are lucky to have found it and celebrate it.

  5. anita says:

    As you have found, we construct our own joy amidst the challenges and disappointments of life. Thank you for an inspiring post and a wonderful reminder today..

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

