new beginnings – SOLC 2017 #1

orange-SOL Challenge

It is another year of the March Slice of Life Challenge, a journey I began five years ago. I will ever be indebted to the dedicated ladies at Two Writing Teachers (now Two+) for giving me – and so many other writers – this opportunity.  Thank you all so very much.

I am anxious about this year’s March SOLC because I haven’t been writing much lately. Well, not much on fireflytrails.  Every day I have been writing, just as you do – emails, notes, project outlines, devotional thoughts, text messages, to do lists. But I have missed the thoughtful, consistent writing that this outlet provides, and I am ready to see what this month will bring out of me – and into me as well.

I am excited about this year’s March SOLC because I am ready to get back to this craft. I have been re-reading some of my previous posts for motivation. (Do you ever look back at something  that you have written and think, “Who wrote that? That’s pretty good! Could it have been me?” I have had a few of those moments!) I am thankful and inspired.

I am enthusiastic about what this month of writing will hold. I have been thinking a lot about this process, and already I have become so much more aware of the world around me. Certain things jump out at me, and other repeat themselves by running a loop in my brain, and with that I find myself analyzing and synthesizing and uncovering the truth in what I am experiencing.

So again I say thank you to Two Writing Teachers and all that they have inspired and brought to life for so many writers. Let’s get this party started!

22 thoughts on “new beginnings – SOLC 2017 #1

  1. Isn’t it exciting to join the writing fun, again! I am excited about where this month will take us!

  2. MaryHill says:

    I know how you feel. I think back on things that I have written too. Sometimes I reread my old articles from college and am so happy that I had the opportunity to write so intelligently for my college newspaper. Thanks for sharing your inspiration today. Good luck on this month’s challenge.

  3. So excited to have you on this monthly journey with me.

  4. Terje says:

    I am with you – it’s a party. Happy writing!

  5. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    I hold those same feelings too. I haven’t been writing as much, life has taken over those little moments of time, but I’m committing to my seventh challenge. My eyes and ears are open to steal back those little moments to capture in words and stories. And, yes, sometimes I am amazed at my writing too (though I don’t admit that often) — or I’m amazed at the writing that I wasn’t thrilled about but readers connected and shared their love in the comments. I’m happy you are joining the party!

  6. Ramona says:

    So glad to be here for this month long party. I’m also indebted to the folks at TWT who enticed me to join five years ago! And it’s a delightful journey filled with friends I recognize.

  7. Isn’t it amazing that, by reading the heartfelt words of other writers, we “know” them better than some of the people we see every day?

  8. lindabaie says:

    It was great to see your comment and know that you’ll be back here! I like the way you showed your motivation in your post. Makes me more ready, too! Will find you within the crowd!

  9. bhamteach says:

    As this is my first year on this writing journey, your words bring comfort in that it is doable, worthwhile, and enjoyable. Thanks for sharing your insights about the process.

  10. Raivenne says:

    Anxious – check, excited – check, enthusiastic – check

    Yep, we slicers know these feelings well. Looking forward to reading more of yours.

  11. mrsday75 says:

    I haven’t been writing as much either–but March always gets me going. I’ve tried to convince a Facebook group I belong to to also write with me this month. I’m hoping they’ll also motivate me to keep going!

  12. Adrienne says:

    You captured how we all feel beautifully.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

