reflection

Last November I started to write thirty days of thankfulness. True to form (for me) I got sidetracked and ended up competing that journey just yesterday as part of the 2016 Slice of Life Story Challenge. Yesterday was “giving thanks #30,” and although I could probably go on forever with things to be thankful for, I decided to follow my original plan for thirty (albeit nonconsecutive) days.

Writing in March has been an important part of my life for the last five years, and this year is no exception. It has been a change this year (so far) not to have to scratch my head each day to know what to write. (Yes, I had already made a list of thirty things after the first five or six that I started with.) But even though I knew my topic each day, I still had to labor over the right words. And the hardest one to write was the post I did yesterday, knowing it was the end. Not the end of being grateful, of course, but still, it was hard to choose the last thing of which I would write about being appreciative.

My choices included things great and small, but more importantly, the writing ingrained in me a spirit of thankfulness. Already today I have thanked God for many of His blessings He has chosen to send my way. Living life with a focus on what to be thankful for, rather than what to wish for, is making a positive difference in my outlook.

I am so thankful for those days – and likewise for thankful days to come.

4 thoughts on “reflection

  1. Donna Smith says:

    Intentional focus on thankfulness can only be good for the soul, mind and body! And directing our thanks to the One who gives those gifts is the second half of the good thing to do! I’ll bet you found an especially wonderful Comfort each of the 30 days. But not only that, the things you were thankful for, we things we could each relate to and be reminded to be thankful for in our own lives. Thanks for sharing and reminding!

  2. JulieK says:

    Thanks for sharing your post. Quests are always enlightening.

  3. JulieK says:

    Grateful that you shared about your thankfulness journey.

  4. You have truly been an example of mindfulness. Thank you, I’m sure gratitudes will continue to be a feature of your posts.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

