giving thanks #29

Daily thankfulness is good for the soul.

As I was growing up I was surrounded by coffee drinkers in my family. And I married a man who drinks far too much of it.  I always thought coffee smelled so delicious, but when I tried drinking it, the taste wasn’t a match to the aroma, and the aftertaste it left in my mouth made me wonder what people really saw in drinking coffee.  Then about ten years ago I was introduced to those vanilla lattes and caramel macchiatos, and I gradually became another of the many coffee drinkers in this world.  I don’t always order specialty drinks anymore, but I don’t think I will ever be able to drink it black. Vanilla flavored creamer is a wonderful thing.

So I am thankful for coffee, but even more so for my daily activities that coffee drinking has become a part of.  Often I read the newspaper or my devotional when I drink coffee in the mornings at home. And many times I meet a friend for “coffee,” but it is really the visit and conversation that energizes my spirit.  Sometimes a cup of coffee provides the time needed to slow down and think through things before charging forward.  And a cup to travel with as we leave on a trip makes the anticipation of the journey even more satisfying.

Coffee often has a way of bringing people together, and drawing out the dreams, plans, and friendships in us.

I am so thankful.

10 thoughts on “giving thanks #29

  1. I wasn’t a coffee drinker at first either. I started with lattes and gradually became a coffee lover!

  2. mbhmaine says:

    Before I converted to coffee drinking, I used to say it tasted like stewed bark. I now drink it with no sugar and just a bit of milk–and I drink a lot of it! I agree that the activities that accompany coffee are a large part of its allure.

  3. Janie Fahey says:

    I always loved the aroma of coffee, too. I became a coffee drinker by making it taste like coffee ice cream:) I can drink it black now. But, I totally agree with you – it brings people together, allows us to take a break, recharge, and reset. I am thankful, too.

  4. Ashley says:

    I gave up coffee a few months ago as part of my one word for 2016, healthy. I’ve recently reintroduced it into my life. I’ve missed those “coffee moments”!

  5. Love coffee so this post was right on! It fuels us in many ways.

  6. khays41 says:

    I think coffee made me slow down because I can’t drink it fast. Like you, I find myself drinking it while I read the paper or check emails for the day.

  7. elsie says:

    It is the perfect way to kick off the day with a little boost from the caffeine.

  8. jennieb says:

    I love this line: “Coffee often has a way of bringing people together, and drawing out the dreams, plans, and friendships in us.” It is so true! When I saw coffee, I thought, “Yes! I love coffee!” But, you wrote so much more! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Nina Anderson says:

    I love this line, “Sometimes a cup of coffee provides the time needed to slow down and think through things before charging forward.” It’s so true! That first cup of coffee sets me up for the day.

  10. bjdonaldson says:

    There is a great book, First We Have Coffee, I read years ago. It focuses on how sitting talking with a cup of coffee is so important. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

