giving thanks #26

Daily thankfulness is good for the soul.

The beach, to me, is a special place. When I go there, it is as if it washes away the everyday from my existence and the mundane from my thinking. The scenery, the smells, the brightness, and the openness are all so different from my usual frame of reference that it allows me to be rejuvenated every time I visit.

When I was a child, my family took a week-long trip to the beach every year. Then there was a stretch of about 15 years where there were only brief moments spent near the sand and the sea. When my husband and I, along with our children, made our first week-long family trip to the beach, which we have repeated every year since, I was overwhelmed by the abundance of senses and memories that came rushing back to me. I loved the cleansing benefits of the sand scrubbing my skin, the joyful feeling of the sun and the wind warming and cooling me at the same time, the smell of salt-crusted yet clean air, and the taste of the fresh catch from the sea. Right now I can hear the flapping of umbrellas and flags in the constant breeze and see the contrast of the bright colors of towels and swimsuits against the sugar-sand beaches.  I long for this when I am away, and I am thrilled by it every time we return.

IMG_0326

Is there anything more beautiful than the beach at sunset, with its wide expanse of pastel tinted sky and its golden spectacle of the sun and clouds sinking into the foamy turquoise waters?

I am so thankful.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

