giving thanks #24

Daily thankfulness is good for the soul.

Even though I sincerely sang the praises of spring yesterday, I do have to admit that fall is my favorite season. It is a time for striving and straining to cease, and for true colors to show through. The colors entrance me, the low lying rays of the sun envelope me, and the crisp air invigorates me. I have always loved fall the best.

I know some people get sad in the fall, thinking it is a time of endings and of death. But I know spring will come again, and so autumn becomes a pause, a regrouping, a strengthening for me. The list of fall favorites goes on and on – football, turning leaves, campfires and s’mores, sweaters, hayrides, hot chocolate, and scarecrows, to name but a few. There is so much joy in being able to take time to savor all the good that remains once the big production of summer and harvest is finished.

autumn tall trees

Fall sings a song of blue skies, golden sun, and brilliant trees.

I am so thankful.

4 thoughts on “giving thanks #24

  1. Katy Collins says:

    I can so relate to this! I literally thought last night, “I wish we were on the other side of summer so it was getting darker and cozier.” I love spring, too, but there is just something special about the fall/winter holidays and traditions that are the best!

  2. Fall is my favorite too and all because of the color and light but also because I sometimes feel like a bulb – putting myself deep in the dirt but getting ready for something new to burst forth.

  3. bbutler627 says:

    Excellent imagery. Your word choice is perfection! I was like, Fall?!?! But then you played this really well off the post from the previous day. It is good to be thankful! Great slice!

  4. Ramona says:

    Absolutely breathtaking photo! I love fall too!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

