giving thanks #12

My thankfulness continues into the new year.

We have a “mostly” golden retriever named Maggie. She is a “rescue dog” that came to be with us eight years ago, when she was 5, soon after our dog of eleven years had passed away. We weren’t going to get another dog so soon, so we thought, but God had other plans. So Maggie changed her name from “Goldie Fern” (thank goodness!) and became a part of our lives.

She was extremely timid and scared when we got her, and my husband Wayne was very patient with her curious ways. Consequently she is totally devoted to him. And now that I am retired and spend more time with her, she not only tolerates me as before, but I am convinced that she loves me, too.  She has come so far, but still displays those nervous tendencies around others: still, Maggie is a perfect companion for my husband and me. Her world has been rocked a bit by our granddaughter’s arrival and her weekly visits, but she tolerates it all very well. At 13, her arthritis makes it harder for her to get around. Her hearing has lessened, but that seems to make her life a bit calmer, as she doesn’t bark at every unexpected noise because she doesn’t hear them. There could never be a more faithful pet friend, and we love her dearly. The faithfulness and love that shine through those sweet brown eyes mean the world to me.

I am so thankful.

8 thoughts on “giving thanks #12

  1. Such a beautiful tribute to your beloved dog. I have a rescue dog who went from being a “Rainey” to a “Rosie”. They make the BEST companions!

  2. Terje says:

    Such a sweet slice about your dog. Love is present in every word.

  3. hintsofhildy says:

    I am so glad I stumbled upon this post! Every little bit reminds me of my sweet Sadie. She is also scared of her own shadow, but like Maggie, is the most faithful following friend. Our doggie doodles will never quite understand what their love and wagging tails mean to us!

  4. elsie says:

    God had plans for you and Maggie. A perfect match made from heaven.

  5. Raivenne says:

    Aww, I loved this slice of your beloved fur buddy. The love shows.

  6. Adrienne says:

    There is something so peaceful and reassuring about an old dog. I hope you have many years ahead of you with Maggie.

  7. Amy says:

    Our furry friends are such a blessing. I advocate for adoption so I’m thankful you found such a wonderful companion. Here’s to Maggie and her family!

  8. b says:

    Hi, again! I love the idea of documenting thankfulness. How full your heart will be after an entire month of focus! Your writing is inspiring me to consider thankfulness as a lens this month… 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

