giving thanks #11

My thankfulness continues into the new year.

My family is quite small: my parents have been deceased for thirteen years, and I have no brothers and sisters. My dad was an only child and my mother had only one sister. So I have one aunt (and uncle) and they have blessed my life in immeasurable ways.

I remember looking forward to visits from Aunt Rosie and Uncle Larry as I was growing up, as they always lived in another state. Their visits helped me learn what family really means. As I grew older and they moved closer, I realized that my personality was perhaps a bit more like Aunt Rosie’s than my mother’s, and I relished the interest she showed in me and the way she seemed to understand my thinking. Years later, when my parents became seriously ill, and then soon passed away, my Aunt Rosie was right beside me through each step of their passing – moving them from their home of almost 40 years (and immense tons of “stuff”), being with them as they weakened, mourning their loss. And since that time she has been the mother figure that I lost when Mama died. Uncle Larry has been always willing to help us and also kind enough to “share” Aunt Rosie’s time when I needed her most. They both continue to bless the lives of my husband and children as well, even well into their 90’s with health concerns of their own.

Our granddaughter’s middle name is Rosalie – a tribute to the influence of a Godly woman who loves us all very much.

I am so thankful.

7 thoughts on “giving thanks #11

  1. Donna Smith says:

    Large family or small small, blood or acquired relatives – it is such a blessing to have that hedge of Godly people surrounding us and making us stronger, taller, warmer, saner – what word do I search for? – than we are alone. I am remembering to be thankful for those I have today, thanks to your post!

  2. Donna Underwood says:

    What special memories of family that God placed in your life. Memories that you will always have. I call them blessings, people and circumstances that the Lord places in our lives. He uses them throughout our lives, to remind us that He was there and knows what we will need. If they are happy times or sad times, He provides. Many times it isn’t until years later, when we can look back and see how He provided exactly who, or what, we needed. Your Aunt was one of those blessings. Not only was she there for your life, but those special times were for her also. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Judy C. says:

    So much to be thankful for in our lives, but family is one of the top blessings. I don’t think we truly realize these blessings until one of them passes and then we find a different perspective. Thanks for sharing your blessings.

  4. Beth Hart says:

    I’m so thankful for you and our small (but mighty) family! Aunt Rosie is a special “gem” and I pray Little Bit becomes half the woman she is. Love you, Mom!

  5. Ramona says:

    What fun to have the blessing of this aunt and uncle in your life. I’ll look forward to more thankful slices. Love the title & byline of your blog: Firefly Trails: a spark to linger along the way.

  6. elsie says:

    What a blessing your aunt and uncle have been and continue to be in your life. I’m glad to see you are back writing.

  7. Mandy says:

    Love this about your aunt and uncle! Family is a precious gift! We laid my grandmother to rest yesterday, and I am missing her so much! So, family is very much on my heart!!! Thank you for sharing yours with us!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

