giving thanks #10

As we focus on this season of gratitude, I hope to write briefly about something I am thankful for every day.

My mother always said, after my children were born, that if she had known grandchildren were so great, she would have had them first. All my friends tried to tell me how great having a grandchild would be. I knew it would be special, but I had no idea…

Madison is our first grandbaby. She is the most precious and most beautiful child in the world. She is smart, and curious, and busy, and a good sleeper. Thankfully she has been healthy, and you can see the wheels in her mind turning as she tries to understand new things. She is ticklish, and snuggly, and strong, and sweet. Her mom and dad are doing all the right things, and they are generous to let us spend special times with her. It has been such a gift to see her growing and changing, and moving through the stages of life in these past 14 months.  And she gives us hope and excitement for the future to see what she does next.

We hope she will call us Nan and Pops. We will answer no matter what name she comes up with.

I am so thankful.

2 thoughts on “giving thanks #10

  1. mcj7 says:

    I’ve spent the past little while reading back through your blog. I always enjoy your writing. I also have been surprised at how much I don’t miss teaching since I retired. I also marvel at the absolute love I feel for my granddaughters. I knew I’d love them, but the intensity of that love surprised me. I’m really glad to see that you’re still writing in your blog. I think it has been a couple years since I wrote in mine.

  2. Thank you, my friend, for taking time to read my ramblings. I need to get back to writing more regularly. This is a good time of year to do that! And it’s also a good time to take walks in the park with a friend. Let me know when you have time for that!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

