pie in the sky

When I was young, I was very idealistic. I wanted everything to be just so. Disneyworld-like, with dreams come true for all.

As I grew,  realized that life isn’t always like that. Not everything that should be comes to pass. Acceptance became the norm.

No more idealism for me.

 

Distrustfulness set in. I expected the worst, even when hoping for the best.  Cynicism took control. What could I, alone, do?

I dreamed of changing things. Making a difference. I worked so hard, but made little progress. Frustration ate at my insides.

Expectation looked only for the worst.

 

This colored my world, and it became the prism through which I viewed everything – situations both hopeful or hopeless.

At least I knew better than to expect good things. Better not to get my hopes up than to be disappointed – again.

Mediocrity and just getting by left me lukewarm and tired.

 

Deliverance came in realizing that, in order to keep my own integrity intact, I must do the best that I could, every day.

I couldn’t change the world, but I could be consistent in doing my part. My heart lightened with anticipation of better things.

Idealism had never left me after all.

 

It guides me still.

 

 

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

