change is in the air – solsc#31

The month of March is a season of change. The old story about the lion and the lamb holds true. This is a change I am thankful for every time.

As I said before, change is hard. Something within us fights against it and tries to alter its course. You see that in nature as well. When change is meant to be, however, there’s nothing we can do to stop it. Thank goodness.

Spring skips down the hillsides and through the valleys, trailing birdsong and fresh scents in its wake.

IMG_2660

The bright midday sun highlights the creepy, crawly, wiggly, squirming, constant change surrounding us.

IMG_2670

Morning and evening glow with expectation and delight.

IMG_2677

All around me I see evidence of the coming of spring, and warmer weather, and leafy green, and gentle sighs.

We welcome new life, and hopeful skies, and beckoning porches, and smiling faces.

Thank you, SPRING, for

       – smoothing out rough edges,

               – erasing bitterness,

                        – softening countenances, and

                                    – singing with joy.

12 thoughts on “change is in the air – solsc#31

  1. Tara Smith says:

    It looks so lovely and lush where you are!

  2. rosecappelli says:

    Beautiful thoughts said with wonderful words. Hoping that image of spring gets to my house soon!

  3. newtreemom says:

    Keep coming, Spring! We need your smoothing, erasing, softening, and especially your singing!

  4. anita says:

    THIS is lovely – absolutely lovely.

  5. I love your line…smoothing out the rough places. The pictures…absolutely beautiful. xo nanc

  6. Jaana says:

    Absolutely amazing photos! “When change is meant to be, however, there’s nothing we can do to stop it.” I think we all change as we write regularly!

  7. mrssurridge says:

    My favorite: The bright midday sun highlights the creepy, crawly, wiggly, squirming, constant change surrounding us.
    There is so much life in your images. Gorgeous.

  8. Hope and optimism shine through here- as well as an increasingly warmer sun. Words and photographs doing great work here. Enjoy the season.

  9. I love your last lines, could be about the season of Lent and Easter too. My favorite photo is that first one, I hope this is a place you see often.

    • That’s my favorite, too. It is a view out the back windows of my daughter’s house, and that image was the inspiration for this piece. And yes, those last lines ARE about the changes that come to us this season. Thank you for reading closely and sharing your insight.

  10. Donna Smith says:

    Sigh…’twill be a snowy Easter for us…no daffodils, or green of edges. I’m happy to know it’s coming along though!

  11. Donna Smith says:

    Just thought I’d hope over to say…I did it. I read at the Poetry Open Mic! And it wasn’t bad at all. There were about 20 poets there, including a couple of high school kids who got extra credit for showing up. Phew! I have to see if there are any more going on this month anywhere!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

