dismissed – solsc#27

Inspired by other writers’ posts, I am using this poem style I saw on other blogs:

Today… I was dismissed from the radiation oncologist’s care. I don’t need to return there anymore. Everything looks good and I am doing well.

Before that I had one month of healing from radiation treatments.

Before that … I went for a treatment every weekday for six weeks, for a total of 30 treatments.

Before that … the oncologist told me that follow up radiation is routine, and he prescribed that for me.

Before that … the after-surgery pathology results showed there was no cancer in the lymph nodes, indicating no need for chemotherapy.

Before that … I had lumpectomy surgery to remove the small spot.

Before that … at another meeting with the surgeon he told me my options and assured me that this was very treatable – just a “bump in the road.”

Before that … it was discovered that the spot was grade one (non aggressive) cancer.

Before that … I had a biopsy of the area in question.

Before that … I met with the surgeon (a neighbor and friend) who recommended doing a biopsy.

Before that … the radiologist saw something suspicious on my mammogram.

Before that … I had my yearly physical and routine annual mammogram.

Before that … I had no idea of what the next five months would hold.

From now on… I will ever be grateful that this was caught early and was treated successfully. And I will encourage others to have routine health screenings whenever they can.

I am feeling very blessed.

7 thoughts on “dismissed – solsc#27

  1. elsie says:

    What good news for you! That was a frightening series of events. Perfect format to tell your story.

  2. newtreemom says:

    Such good news! That is a blessing.

  3. Ms. Kelly says:

    The reverse order of your poem, before that, made me think about how we never know what is ahead of us, only what came before. Glad that you are doing well.

  4. Kim says:

    I like this style and might borrow it, too. I’m so happy for you and your recovery. It must have been scary to go through. Bless you.

  5. b says:

    I’m so glad you shared your story. This format really worked to unpack the sequence of events. You are blessed to be dismissed today!!! YAY YOU! Such a celebration. 🙂

  6. bevbaird says:

    Such great news – but your poem sure laid out a diffcult few months you’ve had.

  7. jehansen13 says:

    So exciting! It’s amazing to see how time changes things.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

