low fat dessert – solsc#25

At book club the other night, our hostess served the most delicious chocolate cake with ooey gooey chocolate sauce and ice cream, too (of course!).

She explained how it came about – she had eaten at one of our downtown (expensive) restaurants and paid eight dollars for a decadent dessert. It reminded her of something her mother used to serve.

When she talked with her mom she described the tasty treat she had eaten and her mom gave her the old recipe that she had remembered.

And we book clubbers were the beneficiaries of this process. We all licked our lips and proclaimed how it was one of the best things we had tasted in a while. The amazing part is that the cake makes its own sauce when you bake it. It was new to everyone there.

Well, almost everyone. It was an old recipe I had as well. In fact I have two versions. One came to me in a wedding gift from my cousin – favorite recipes of hers in plastic sleeves, and organized by categories in a wooden file box. Yes, I use many recipes this box still, including ones I have added through the years.

The other copy was from a friend who served it one night. I had forgotten that I had it already, and when I asked for the recipe I received it in his beautiful script. Notice he called it a “lowfat dessert.” Don’t be fooled.

choc cake pudding

So I am thinking I MUST make it again soon. And I probably need to go through that box and find what other delicious foods are waiting for me there.

Here’s the complete recipe. The versions on the cards are different, but this is the one I have made, and will make again soon.

Chocolate Cake Pudding

Cake:

¾ c. sugar; 1 c. flour; 2 T. cocoa; 3T. melted butter; ¼ t. salt; 2 t. baking powder; ½ c. milk; 1 t. vanilla

Sift sugar, flour, salt, baking powder, and cocoa into 9” square pan. Stir in milk, butter and vanilla.

Spread out in pan, mix topping and sprinkle over the top.

Topping:

½ c. sugar; ½ c. brown sugar; ¼ c. cocoa

Pour 1¾ c. hot water over all, DO NOT MIX OR STIR. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “low fat dessert – solsc#25

  1. rosecappelli says:

    Your title fooled me! I think I have a version of this recipe as well, somewhere. Thanks for the reminder of how delicious life can be!

  2. newtreemom says:

    My mom made this for us all the time! I have the original recipe she cut out from a bag of sugar, probably in the early sixties.

  3. elsie says:

    We call it Chocolate Pudding Cake and my recipe is from a really old Betty Crocker cookbook. There’s also a lemon version in the cookbook. Truly and easy but decadent dessert. Yummy!

  4. macrush53 says:

    I will be making this! Thank you for the recipe. I love the story behind the dessert.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

