time travel – solsc #1

I feel as though I have traveled through time during the last few days.

Our son is getting married in May, and we are planning to have a slide show of him and his bride at the rehearsal dinner. I have looked through many pictures of him recently to choose which photos to use. It seemed that he grew up right before my eyes.

In preparation for this wonderful March SOLC writing challenge, I have randomly read back through several of my previous postings. Since many of them are about moments in my own past, I was transported to several other times and other places. It seemed that many years passed,  one right after another.

Just this weekend we drove to Mississippi for a gracious party for our son’s future bride. We left a day in Tennessee with a forecasted high of 30 degrees. We drove through 4-6 inches of snow that had fallen two days earlier in northern Alabama. (Fortunately the roads were clear.) We were greeted upon our arrival by sunny skies, warm temperatures, green fields, and buttercups in bloom. It seemed we had driven through seasons, from winter to spring.

Time is such a hard thing to pin down. It can pass like lightning or syrup depending on our circumstances. I am looking forward to spending time with fellow writers in this year’s March writing challenge. Welcome one and all!

9 thoughts on “time travel – solsc #1

  1. newtreemom says:

    That’s a lot of time travel! It will be interesting to see if the month oozes by syrupy slow or flashes by like lightning…

  2. onathought says:

    Just today, when my son got tie dye all over his face, I took his picture and I said, “I can’t wait to use this in your wedding slideshow…” So this slice was a great one to read tonight. I think a lot about the passage of time, even though my goal is to live in the present…. and I know these little kids of mine will be grown in the blink of an eye. Thanks for sharing this slice.

  3. Love the simile of time as lightning or syrup–what a great visual! Congratulations about your son–an exciting time for you!

  4. ktadelman says:

    Thank you for this post. My son is getting married in November and you have reminded me that I need to start looking through my photo albums as well. You have also reminded me that raising children is a bit like time travel.

    As a first time slicer, I’m hoping that my slicing feels lightning fast and not syrupy slow.

  5. Jennifer says:

    It’s such an odd phenomenon…the way life moves forward at such a rapid pace, but it stands still at certain pivotal moments.

  6. I love how writing can take us back. I turned to a page in my notebook the other day where I wrote down three stories I noticed while I was sitting in Starbucks. I had completely forgotten that morning when I sat at Starbucks and worked…but then I reread a few sentences I had written and instantly, I was there again, reliving those memories. One has potential to be part of a story which makes it so worth taking the time to write it down. It’s amazing how a post here and there adds up to a bigger story that we tell on our blogs.

  7. Lightening or syrup – love those images. My sister just wrote a note about finding a postcard she sent to my mom during a camping trip and my mom saved it for her. It made me want to start sending postcards to myself and collect them as keepsakes. But I guess our blogs are the new postcards!

  8. Blogs as postcards – I love that thought!

  9. readingteach says:

    I am terribly jealous of your blog name! I love it!!! My oldest boy is 18, my middle two are 16 and my youngest is 12. I see time passing so quickly as they grow into young men. It made me a little teary to read about you prepping for your son’s wedding as it reminded me that we too will be there some day, far more quickly than I would like. Time. Such a blessing and a curse 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

