sympathy and empathy

Recently there have been scenes on the news because of the winter storms those places are experiencing and the huge snow amounts they have received. Each time I have seen this on the TV I have thought how glad I am not to be there, in those areas. The older I get the more I appreciate warm weather.

When I was younger I loved the peaceful sight of snow covered ground. I still value those scenes, but now I have a better understanding of the hardships that can be caused by such weather.

As a teacher I ruthlessly wished for snow – enough to get us out of school for the ever-longed-for snow day. Sometimes – most times – that was a selfish request, not considering what slippery roads meant for those who did not have their work cancelled due to inclement weather.

This year, even though I have retired, I have still longed for snow. For the beauty of it, and for a day off for my former colleagues. But I have not wanted it too much or too intensely. Things change…. I have had sympathy for those who are in the Midwest and Northeast, suffering through, literally, tons of snow.

Today, instead, I have empathy for those folks, because today, in southern middle Tennessee, we are in a mess. Today the predicted snowstorm has materialized instead as ice – sleet and freezing rain, pellets that bounce and beat the windows and accumulate to look like snow but produce a much more dangerous surface for driving and walking. The downtown area of our small town was without power for a while, and there have been numerous wrecks on the slippery streets.

icy branch

Where once I felt sorry for those folks experiencing tough weather, I now lament with them for the hazards we are all experiencing.

It will only get worse tonight.

icy branch night

May we all stay safe and warm.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

