a trip to bountiful

I attended a play in one of our community theaters with my book club last night. One of our members was in the play, The Trip to Bountiful. When we arrived and got settled, I took this picture and sent it to my husband with the caption, “waiting for the play to start.”

pull tight bountiful

Pretty simple, don’t you think? Pull-Tight Players perform in a former church. It is quite a small space, with limited seating, a mere three rows deep along only two walls of the building. There’s no curtain to rise and fall or shield the audience from set changes, but the lights dim well and the actors are good at moving things around in the dark.

The actors are also very good at acting. They transformed this simple set, and I strongly felt like I  was a part of the lives of the characters they portrayed. And they do it for love, not fame, and certainly not money. They have talent, and determination, and dedication to their craft.

Last night I was transported from a rainy night in Franklin, Tennessee, back in time to a tiny apartment, a train ride, a small town jail, and a beautiful sunny day in Bountiful, Texas. I could hear the redbirds chirp (provided by sound effects), and smell the wind off the gulf (all in my mind). The full moon was huge and glowing over it all.

I left feeling that I had made new acquaintances of the characters – such seemingly real people who had let me inside their lives and souls for a few minutes. And my tears at the end were heartfelt. Kudos to all community minded actors who give their time and talent to spreading culture and class, and to making our towns better places to live.

4 thoughts on “a trip to bountiful

  1. jarhartz says:

    Community theater is so special. These dedicated talented actors provide such gifts. Kind of like this blogging community.

  2. I agree. As a former theater director, I think community theater folks and students deserve so much for doing what they do. Often, it’s their parents who see most of the results – and they’ve been there watching rehearsals. But the kids do it anyway, because of the sense of community in the group. There’s a lot to be said for “community” theater!

  3. Cindy says:

    We are blessed to live in an area with numerous community and regional theaters so our family’s favorite activity is to see shows together – and to critique them on the way home. 🙂 And my husband and children have been in many performances themselves. It’s always more fun to see a show when you know someone in it!

  4. Tara Smith says:

    Sounds lovely – your post made me realize that I haven’t been to the theater nearly enough … time to change that.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

