book club night

Today is the first day of Spring Break (yahoo!!), and St. Paddy’s Day (the luck of the Irish to ye!).

Also, tonight is Book Club night.

I have been sharing good reads with these friends for several years now. Along the way we have shared many life events as well – graduations, children’s engagements, new houses, children’s marriages, grandbabies, new jobs, and retirements. It is a joy to know each other so well.

Here’s a picture from a book club meeting last summer. It’s just part of the group resting on the screened porch of a friend’s lake house where we met for that month’s book club (and fun!).

book club

We are a small group, but very consistent and regular in attendance. We try to read a variety of books, and it is usually easy to know who will like (and dislike) the choices we make, even before we meet again to discuss them.

Tonight we will talk about Anna Quindlen’s Still Life with Bread Crumbs. I started it late (over the weekend), read it quickly and was sad when it ended. I liked it a lot. I’m pretty sure we’ll all be in agreement on that.  But we’ll find out for sure tonight.

still life quindlen

Reading a book is never complete to me now until I can talk about it with someone. I am sure I will gain some new insights as we talk. And our book discussions always lead right into life conversations, too.

This group has broadened my reading horizons, and as a result I have read and enjoyed several books that I would have never chosen myself. And sometimes the incidental recommendations of other books that members have read have also led to some remarkable reads.

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes was one such book. Two of my book club friends had read it and raved about it, but when I went home and Amazoned it (don’t think that’s a word – yet?), I thought, “Uh, no!”  Yet I also read a few reviews, and based mostly on my friends recommendation I read it. Though quite a challenging subject, it was just as good as they said.

Me Before You

Now I am already wondering what we will decide to read next month!

What are YOU reading these days?

12 thoughts on “book club night

  1. Thank you – you reminded me that Anna Quindlen has a new book out and I want to read it! You are lucky to have a group to read and talk with. I had that a while back but life got in the way and we aren’t meeting anymore. Maybe I need to rekindle such a group. Your slice reminded me of what I am missing by reading alone.

  2. What a fantastic idea! Makes me want to start a book club with the girls!! =)

  3. arjeha says:

    A while ago I finished reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. What an interesting and informative book!

  4. Nf says:

    I loved reading this, as my book club too is meeting tonight – what started as a random thought three years ago has now grown into something of it’s very own. I thought of this quote when I read your post:

    …”since our first, memorable meeting of my reading group, we’ve shared nearly a hundred books and countless hours of conversation. We’ve revealed our secrets, confessed our fears and failures, celebrated milestones and happy moments, and mourned the inevitable losses and disappointments that are part of every human journey. Oddly enough, we often feel closer to one another than to some of the friends we see on a daily basis, for together we create a sacred space each month, a place in which who we are and what we say will be neither judged nor betrayed. We trust what’s said in the room, stays in the room.” – Katrina Kenison

    Enjoy your time!

  5. macrush53 says:

    Love my book club too. And this line got me: “Reading a book is never complete to me now until I can talk about it with someone” So true. We are reading The Hangman’s Daughter. Set in Europe in the 1600’s.

  6. b says:

    Your book club sounds like a great space to grow and enjoy time with friends! I am reading Unglued by Lysa Terkuerst, You Were Made for a God-Sized Dream by Holley Gerth, and all Pete the Cat books! 🙂 I’ll have to look up the Anna Quidlan book — I have one of hers (can’t remember the title but it is about her reading life…My Reading Life?) and I thought she was an amazing author. Good stuff! Enjoy tonight!

  7. Love this comment: “Reading a book is never complete to me now until I can talk about it with someone.” What a great message to try and instill in our classes.

    A colleague of mine suggested we try to push for a faculty book club as part of a professional development plan in our building next year…

  8. bevbaird says:

    Loved your post and book club. I’ve attended a few but never for long periods of time. I regret that. I love to share what I’m reading. Now that I am retired, don’t do it as often as I did with my collegues.
    Enjoyed “Labor Day”, Joyce Maynard; The Last Runaway – Tracy Chevalier.

  9. It must be book club night! My group met tonight to discuss Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. I thought it was fascinating, and everyone else liked it, too. We are a very eclectic group, so it was really interesting to get a wide range of perspectives. Our next book is The Round House, by Louise Erdrich, one of my favorite authors. I loved Anna Quindlen’s columns for the New York Times, but haven’t enjoyed her fiction as much. Maybe I’ll give this one a try. Thanks for sharing!

    • I loved the insights in Outliers. My son-in-law and I talked about it (again) just last week. I keep thinking about The Round House. Haven’t read it yet. I am a little afraid of its depth I think. Hope to hear what you think of it.

  10. What a fantastic way to begin break, I’m jealous. I’m reading Tiny Beautiful Things, have you read that?

  11. No, but now I am intrigued. You recommend it, I am guessing? Thanks!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

