night light

A surprising late night visitor

peeking in the window

waiting to be noticed

 

when you’re up that late

 

A blurred shape somewhat familiar

sharpened edges softened

glowing in the mist

 

when the clouds allow

 

A trustworthy night light

lighting fields and valleys

illuminating paths

 

when the phase is right

 

A traveler with a known routine

arriving right on time

departing as expected

 

when you’re keeping track

 

A mesmerizing sight

stopping other movement

holding thoughts at bay

 

when you’ve been moonstruck

6 thoughts on “night light

  1. showgem says:

    At first I thought it was a human that was visiting, but as I read on I guessed the moon. I LOVE your last line- you’ve been moonstruck.

  2. BoydenAmy says:

    This just simply made me smile “moonstruck” :-). Thank you.
    http://parentingandpedagogy.blogspot.com

  3. arjeha says:

    At first I was expecting some kind of bird until I read more. Love the term “moonstruck “.

  4. ccahill2013 says:

    I love, love, love the moon! This is such a beautiful poem with the moon as the main character. Great slice!

  5. I noticed how beautiful the moon was last night, too. Love how you captured the “mesmerizing sight” in this poem!

  6. Well since my prompt was “full moon” I saw your moon right away. I love your poem and the little peeks at something we are so familiar with we cease to think and write about. PS, my mom of Otterlanding.wordpress – is really enjoying your writing. She never comments but she tells me.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

