recipes for living

We are at the lake this weekend. All of us – including our son, daughter, son-in-law, and our two dogs. We haven’t all been here together in a long time. The weather is as nice as we’ve seen for a while. We came without a chore list. So far we have rested, read, slept, watched TV, talked, taken a drive, sat in the sun, and eaten.

When we arrived last night I looked in my cookbook for the quiche recipe I always use when we are here.

cookbook

It’s not in the printed part of the book (although I should have submitted it when our Sunday School class made this church cookbook a few years ago). It is one of the “extras” I keep in a pocket in the back.

These are recipes I have used here. They are also recipes of dishes and beverages that people have brought when they came here to visit.

recipes

They speak of good times together, friendships solidified, lazy summer days, fireside chats, and love. They are recipes for delicious food and drink, as well as for family bonding times, and for relationships with friends – the best life has to offer.

God is great, God is good,

Let us thank Him for our food –

and the blessings of good times together!

9 thoughts on “recipes for living

  1. makablaze says:

    Great post. You manage to tell us so much about yourself with a couple pictures and a few words.
    Do you keep the book at the lake or did you bring it with you? Strange question, I know.

  2. Amanda says:

    There’s so much to love in your post. Just having that place to return to, that place to come together, even if it’s been a while – then to have those recipes. Food is such an important part of our lives.

    I particularly love your parenthetical – it speaks of good intentions – which is somewhat related to my post for today! I also love that you have so many “extra” recipes – I hope you enjoyed your lovely time together!

  3. marc-aureled says:

    This sounds like a priceless collection of recipes that all taste better because of the memories or meals eaten with special people.

  4. newtreemom says:

    I like this! The recipes I use most are the extras tucked inside my cookbooks, too. They have the same kind of connections you

  5. b says:

    I love this slice! So warm and comforting, just like the recipes…which bring memories of good tastes, good company, and sheer goodness. Love the wrap-up. So much to be thankful for. Enjoy the weekend!

  6. Suzanne Gibbs says:

    Love those recipes that bring back memories and pictures in your mind! So many of those recipes came with love and are appreciated for so much more than the food that can come from it.

  7. There’s something about recipe cards that are handwritten. They evoke special memories of the people who wrote them. I’m glad you included the photos in your slice. It made it even more special.

  8. debbussewitz says:

    I love the title for this blog. Very creative.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

