a quiet roar

Today is a “no school day.” How great is that? I guess March is coming in like a lion after all. But oh so quietly…

We had buckets of rain fall yesterday, then the ice came last night. Morning commutes were hazardous at best. I know that folks in other parts of the country make fun of us Southerners for our driving in the snow, but, actually, we can do that. It’s the ice that is so treacherous. Thankfully my husband made it to work OK.

Now the snow is finally falling. And that is a good thing. A top layer of snow makes ice driving much easier. But as for me, I am staying home today. Even so, I have miles to go before I sleep.

My to-do list is very long, and my head cold is long gone (I hope!) so now I can focus and get some things done. That is, if I don’t get distracted by the beauty of the falling snow.

The view out my window  reminds me of a poem I love. Even though this snow is coming during the day, it is still quiet. And so beautiful. And it’s making a blanket for safe driving home for those at work today.

snow day

Snow

The snow fell softly all the night

It made a blanket soft and white.

It covered houses, flowers and ground,

But it did not make a single sound.  

                                                        Alice Wilkins

11 thoughts on “a quiet roar

  1. margaretsmn says:

    Nice to have a day to get things done. Lovely snow and quiet. What a wild cold winter this has been!

  2. newtreemom says:

    This is the winter that just won’t end! We thought we might have a snow day…some in our state do, but our district escaped…thankfully, since we already have lost days from our spring break, our usual 4-day Memorial Day weekend, and have added 2 days at the end of the year.

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    I love the poem and I love the quietness of the snow. We used to live out in the country and enjoyed walks in the snow. Enjoy your day off.

  4. blkdrama says:

    I love snow too! I don’t like driving in it and past the first fall it turns ugly fast but that falling snow, and the morning wake up. HEAVEN. But I am ready to leave on Sunday morning for the beach. I won’t miss the white.

  5. tjkfirst says:

    I have the same problem today, no school and a list of things to do. It was a pretty snow, but won’t be as it refreezes and forms ice for the morning. I read your blog just because of it’s name…and am inspired because of the posts.

  6. That is a perfect primary poem…love it also. It is starting to wear me out…the snow, but I am a ‘not so good’ northern snow driver. xo

  7. This has been some winter, hasn’t it? Your poem speaks eloquently of the peacefulness of snowfall.

  8. Tara Smith says:

    We wound up not having a snow day after all, and I was quite happy about it…until I read your slice!

  9. Alan Wright says:

    I was taken back to my time in New York by your piece about the arrival of snow. Your reference to the quietness that accompanies the snowfall provided a strong connection for this far away reader. The US winter has been horrific in its extreme, yet this snow came somewhat more gently it seems. I also liked your homage to Frost. Most appropriate. Having just ended our hottest summer on record in most parts of Australia. Your slice of snow is like a soothing balm.

  10. Jaana says:

    Quiet snow…this winter the snow might not have been making noise, but people sure have! I will enjoy the new clean blanket that I see outside. When the sun rays touch the new snow, everything looks beautiful!

  11. elsie says:

    I hope you accomplished everything you wanted today. We had the ice then snow too, but also bitter cold. No schools were in session here today either.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

