lion and lamb

Well here it is March 1 again and I certainly hope this month will usher in spring. Unlike so much of the country, we here in middle Tennessee have not seen much snow this year. But we have had record low temperatures and cloudy gloomy days.  So most of us are thinking that if it isn’t going to snow, then let’s have some warmer weather – and let’s have it come to stay!

When I was a classroom teacher I used to explain the lion and lamb story to my students – the one about how March comes in one way and goes out another. I used to keep track of that, and more often than not it was true. Today, March 1, is cool and gloomy – neither lionish or lamb-like – so there’s no telling what March 31 will bring.

The best thing about today is that it brings the beginning of the March Slice of Life Challenge at the Two Writing Teachers website. Two years ago this challenge prompted me to do what I had long dreamed of and talked about – to write. Right before March 1 of that year I read about this challenge on Choice Literacy and I set up this blog and jumped right in.

orange-SOL Challenge

I had no idea if I could write every day for a month. But I did! And I did it again last year, and hope to this year as well. Plus I have written regularly in between, making most of the Tuesday Slice of Life postings that continue throughout the year. This piece is  post # 204 on this blog.

I never dreamed this would be such a blessing in my life. First of all it allowed me to fulfill a dream – to write. Secondly, the comments over time have been an unanticipated source of inspiration and encouragement for me. And thirdly – maybe most importantly – being a writer has caused me to be an observer and an appreciator of all the life that goes on around me. I have thought more deeply about things.  My eyes have been open and my heart has been full. I am forever grateful.

And so this month’s challenge begins. I have missed several days of writing and weeks of posting lately, so I am ready to jump back in. I would say that my writing this month is starting out very wooly and lamb-like. But I hope that as the month continues there will be some powerful lionish pieces that have a voice – a roar – that deserves to be heard.

Let the challenge begin! Many thanks to Two Writing Teachers for hosting this challenge and providing this opportunity.

12 thoughts on “lion and lamb

  1. HI there,
    I am visiting through the Slice of Life Challenge! It is deary here in NC just as your weather is neither lion nor lamb. The weather has been so crazy who knows what March will bring!
    Sarah

  2. I use to always talk about the loin and lamb weather as well. Here in Minnesota we are cold, snowy and winds dropping us even colder. No blizzard today but I would still call it a lion day and I am so happy to be inside writing and reading many Slice of life posts. Happy writing.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Welcome back – the slices are certainly roaring in today! Our weather is dreary, too – we are longing for Spring, and it seems too many more snow days away.

  4. You really captured the essence of the what the SOLC has meant to me, too especially the blessing part. 🙂 I think all our stories roar because we are being fearless as we write and share.

  5. I completely agree that writing daily causes us to be more observant and thoughtful of all that goes on around us. Hope you start seeing signs of spring soon!

  6. Deb Day says:

    I don’t know how I could ever have considered NOT writing this month…just like the lion and lamb, slicing is part of March! Glad you are back too. Here’s to a great month.

  7. Leigh Anne says:

    I love how you have woven the lion and lamb through you slice. This is my first challenge and I am sure my writing life will change dramatically by the time we are finished. Hopefully I will have some roars myself!

  8. elsie says:

    It seems that March outside is dreary in many parts of the country. But inside the slicing world it is bright with high hopes and expectations. How could it not be with that bright orange logo? Looking forward to reading lots.

  9. Hi! The lion and the lamb mantra usually holds true for us in Ohio! I extend the lion entrance to mean the first few days-and of course here comes another winter storm! SERIOUSLY?! we are supposed to get 6-12 inches between tonight and tomorrow night. Many church marquees have posted: Who ever is praying for snow, please stop! 😉
    Looking forward to reading your roaring slices!

  10. the lion and the lamb in writing, I like thinking about how both of those animals in me nurture each other. The lamb soothes and comforts, the lion pushes the lamb to assert. So I hope this month, they both play out for you and me.

  11. I’m looking forward to the lionish postings on your blog and mine also…I hope that I can keep up. I’m glad we are still doing it! xo

  12. Terje says:

    I don’t dare to think what my life would have been like without the slicing and this community. The impact has been huge. Happy writing!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

