a different slant

This time of year the sun may be in its weakest form in our northern hemisphere, but its low spot in the sky is still powerful.

While driving to work in the mornings it is sometimes almost impossible to see the road. All that is there in your field of vision in an all-encompassing brightness. It doesn’t shine down from above, but sits just barely above the horizon. Strong and intense.

Late in the afternoon it feels like there’s a spotlight shining directly at you, highlighting your strengths as well as your weak spots, the light clear and strong. There’s no blurring of the edges or that golden tint that comes at the end of the day at other times of the year. Just a dazzling light, right at eye level. Zeroing in.

Thankfully, there is at least one redeeming quality of this light and its shadows.

Pictures from my college days show me and my friends with slimmer figures, sleek and trim. A friend once said, while looking at these photos several years after they were made, “Look how long our legs were.”

In the winter, the long rays of the sun have returned those long legs to me at the end of a long day, as seen in this photo of me and my shadow leaving school.

long shadows

10 thoughts on “a different slant

  1. Chris says:

    A great slice – makes me think of how we look in fun house mirrors. 🙂 I love how you found a positive spin (long legs!) during these short winter days.

  2. kd0602 says:

    Love your post and your description of the light at this time of year! Your long-legged shadow surprised me at the end…such a fun way to appreciate this time of year.

  3. “the long rays of the sun have returned those long legs to me at the end of a long day.” I really like the repetition of the word long in this sentence.

  4. I am going to have to notice my long legged slim shadow tomorrow! 🙂 In the reality of the ” dazzling” light it will be fun to get a different slant!

  5. Sally J. says:

    Great post! I remember as a child always doing weird things with my shadows. This post also made me thing about how mirrors can change our shape.

  6. BP9614 says:

    Wow. That slice actually made me think a lot about my past. Very interesting, thank you for that view point!

  7. I’ve been noticing how this low light changes the colors of the scenery around me. Maybe it changes color on me too – like my hair. It would be nice if it would put color back into it instead of gray!

  8. Ruth Ayres says:

    I always love to read and think about the light and shadows — they are bittersweet and most definitely work together.
    Ruth

  9. blkdrama says:

    I could use some light now. The snow has taken us over. Love your images 🙂

  10. Donna Smith says:

    I know what you mean about the sun in your eyes both driving to and from work… the timing is perfect at this time of year!
    Love the long-legged photo! My favorite shadow “pictures” I get out here are the ones of the tall bare tree. Because of no leaves you get just long tree shadows on the snow. That, coupled with the almost identical “shade” of gray of the bark, means there are lines galore, intersecting and angling everywhere with trees, limbs, and the long shadows they produce. When the sun comes around this hill, I need to go take a picture!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

