positive and negative

Our son is a civil engineering major, and he describes his classes as something off the Big Bang Theory. At least it seems that way to me. And as part of his last semester before graduating he is taking a required electrical engineering class. Although he has done quite well with his college career, this course is giving him a hard time.

I don’t really understand much about wires and circuits, but my husband learned a lot about all this from his grandfather. Together they would wire buildings and such. But when our son describes what he is learning even my husband shakes his head.

So my point in all this is to say that I know electricians are smart people. They have to have a basic understanding of so many things and also a practical knowledge of making things work. I know I couldn’t do it, and I wouldn’t want to try.

What I don’t understand is the lack of consistency I see in light switches and plugs. We have had various electricians do work for us throughout our lives, both in new houses we have built and in older structures we have remodeled. Thankfully we have had professional work done every time.

Yet we have never had electric plugs that have the grounding hole routinely at the top or the bottom. This really isn’t a big deal, and I don’t notice it unless I am going from room to room with the vacuum cleaner.  But still, why can’t they all go the same way? Is that too much to ask?

And if there is ever more than one light switch in the same location, why can’t the switches be in the same place as the lights. The closer switch should control the closer light, don’t you think? Or the one on top should control the ceiling lights, and the one on the bottom could control the wall plugs.

Perhaps there is so much other information to consider that this just slips their mind. I am truly grateful that we have never had any issues with the wiring or the circuits. So like I said, maybe it isn’t that important – but it would make life a little easier for common folk like me.

4 thoughts on “positive and negative

  1. It doesn’t make sense at all why electrical plugs are not consistent. I will do most home repairs myself. Except for electricity. I don’t want to get fried.

  2. I really get so nervous about electricity and, of course shocks. My husband has dabbled, but I want the whole house to not have electricity when he works. Your son must have that organized circuit type of brain to be an electrical engineer. I imagine you are very proud of him! xo

  3. Judy Curtiss says:

    My husband did all of the electrical work in our home and through he tried to be consistent, he too didn’t get them all the same. In fact over the weekend he changed out a switch and wouldn’t you know it, he turned it upside down, so now when the switch is in the up position – it’s off. It’s not something that I would tackle, so I’m just thankful that he can take care of these little things.

  4. hmm, never thought about this. Your entry reminded me of recent news in Seattle where the first “living building” has opened. This building has all kinds of eco-friendly stuff going on with it but one thing I thought was interesting – every single outlet is metered so they can know exactly how much each tenant is using!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

