change

Change is on its way.

I noticed this weekend that the limbs on the trees for the most part were still bare, still drawing and outlining their unique shapes across the sky.

But I could see that the change is coming.

Some trees looked all furry with countless bumps of anticipation, making them look like a fuzzy bottle brush anxious to get to work scrubbing winter’s cares away.

Other trees had tiny leaves that were already big enough so that I could see their baby shapes, making a statement about who they are, deep down inside, and who they are going to be.

A few trees were already covered with leaves that have that glorious spring green color  – the tint that blurs the hard lines of branches and seems to shimmer in the light, leading the way for others to follow.

Change is in the air.

The warm days and bright sun that have finally pushed the cold and clouds away have started something big here. And there’s no turning back.

I took two pictures from one day to the next, and yes, you could see the difference.

I think if I stood real still I could see it happen in real time, too.

Change is here.

Spring, the season of being surrounded by miracles. I don’t want to miss a single one.

5 thoughts on “change

  1. Angela says:

    I love spring, and this post captures it so well. I like the idea of taking pictures from day to day to measure the change. I should do that with my flowers! Enjoy!

  2. newtreemom says:

    I love the phrase “scrubbing winter’s cares away,” and “baby shapes” of leaves “making a statement about who they are, deep down inside, and who they are going to be.” And yiur description of the spring green color. I just enjoyed the whole thing! It is so good to see the signs of spring FINALLY becoming more plain! You could turnthis slice into a beautiful poem!

  3. elsie says:

    You looked and looked again to spot the change. I love the noticings you had. I’ve been watching and smiling as they take place too. I loved the way you said “still drawing and outlining their unique shapes across the sky.”

  4. mag says:

    I love the trees on the edge of bursting out……. The energy is just surging through the air like an electrical field.

  5. I love that you wrote the word “miracles.” What a wonderful reminder that spring is a miraculous season – and that it can happen within me as well as in the world.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

