looking towards the light – solc #31

I am thankful for the daffodils that have already come and gone to remind us that winter really has packed its bags to leave. As we get ready to begin the month of April and we prepare for the showers that this month is known for, we try to look past this gloomy time and look forward to the May flowers that this liquid nourishment brings. Yet as I look around today I can discover that many smaller flowers are also already declaring the wonderful change of seasons.

Some cold and cloudy days it doesn’t seem worth the trouble to stop and look for these small signs of spring. We focus on the lack of sun or the cool temperatures and often overlook the blooms that are already there. But I love this quote: “Flowers don’t worry about how they’re going to bloom. They just open up and turn toward the light and that makes them beautiful.”  (Jim Carrey) When it is time for them to unfurl, they just do it, without concern. And they are beautiful.

In my elementary music class in college long ago, I had to choose a poem and set it to music. I can’t remember the tune I floundered around with, or the poet’s name, but I still recall the words:

I was up so tiptoe early that the flowers were all pearly,

As they waited in their places for the sun to dry their faces.

Hearing those words and thinking about a garden of flowers lining up for their morning wake-up warmth still makes me smile.

There’s a lesson in this for all of us, I think. Shouldn’t we look towards the sun, and do our best to carry out our roles in life despite any circumstances that get in our way? Can’t we try to seek the best in life and dwell on that to get us through? By focusing on the good, the bad has less power to control our thinking. Walt Whitman said, “Keep your face always toward the sunshine and the shadow will fall behind you.”  Doesn’t it feel so invigorating to stand in the warmth of the sunshine? That is going to be my aim from now on.

Happy Easter to all! On this day we celebrate the centerpiece of our Christianity, the reason for our belief, the hope for our future – the resurrection of our Lord Jesus. May it be a beautiful day for you today, and may the Son encourage your soul and help you to bloom and grow.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

