bowling avenue – solc #23

My new book club is reading a new book by a new author – Bowling Avenue by Ann Shayne. The story is based in Nashville, which is where I grew up, and happens during the time of the 2010 flood, which everyone here remembers so vividly.

Along with so many events and places being familiar, the story line is captivating. I am just at the delicious point where the characters seem like people I know and there have been enough plot twists and surprises to make be eager to keep reading – and sad to know it will soon come to an end.

When one of our members bought her copy at Parnassus Books in Green Hills (owned in part by author Ann Patchett), the clerk told her the author sometimes come to book club meetings. I emailed her, but haven’t heard back yet. Having an author in our midst would be a great way to start a new book group, so I am still keeping my fingers crossed!

Here’s my favorite quote from the book, so far. This statement was made by one character who found his way back home to Nashville, to another character who now lives in Chicago and looks down on the city of her birth.  “Rootless child, you poor rootless child. You don’t even know what you’re missing, cutting off your roots the way you do. Life is so much richer, so very much more meaningful, if you plant yourself in a place that will nourish you.”  I think this is so true, no matter where you live.

Tonight we had dinner in Nashville, and we drove down Bowling Avenue itself, in the part of town near my high school. It was interesting to be right there, where my new “friends” were living out their story.

Now… back to the book!

2 thoughts on “bowling avenue – solc #23

  1. What a great experience to have your life weave in and out of the book you are reading. I hope the author can come!

  2. How amazing would it be to have the author there! I have to say one of the things I’ve enjoyed about Twitter is the availability of so many authors. I hope she comes to your club meeting!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

