i don’t know why – solc #21

Our conversation ended with my saying, “I love you and I know this is all going to turn out OK. I’ll be thinking of you.”

To which she replied, “I keep asking myself, ‘Why?’”

I had no answer. I don’t know why.

What do you say to a friend who has had more than her share of tragedy and heartbreak? Especially when another one is barreling her way?

Years ago my friend lost her husband to cancer, then later she lost a son to an early death, and she currently has bad health and is in need of restorative surgery. There have been other things along the way, too. I often wonder how she has borne all this.

And yet she continues to look for the good in situations. Time after time. But this time she seems so very upset.

This time her boss seems to be trying to take her job away from her. Her boss that once was her friend. Out of the blue, seemingly related more to personality rather than performance. What do you say?

I had no answer. I have no answer. And I don’t know why. I only have prayers, lots of them, for her.

If you have any prayers to spare, will you please pray for my friend?

7 thoughts on “i don’t know why – solc #21

  1. kkoehler22 says:

    Done. I am constantly in awe of the people who are continutously tested and yet remain with a bright view of the world. She needs your support and I will send good thoughts and prayers to both of you.

  2. newtreemom says:

    Offering a prayer. Sometimes it is “all” we can do- we just need to remember, sometimes it is everything.

  3. Done – and doing…and for you too.

  4. Even when there are not answers, standing by a friend on the journey is so important. Standing with you and her in prayer.

  5. Delilah says:

    Sometimes there are no words, but your friend feels your support. Praying for your friend.

  6. jhaworthoy says:

    It is so frustrating when we have no answers. Your friend sounds like a strong woman and I will send her positive energy and hope she finds it to get through this next obstacle. I am glad she is able to talk with a friend…you…and that you are there for her. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. The answers aren’t ever easy ones in these times. But having someone to share the questions with… that’s something. My thoughts are with you both.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

