what words don’t say – solc #10

This morning at church I saw two students from my school. The older sister has moved on to middle school now. They are so energetic and enthusiastic , always smiling, always anxious to say hello (unlike some students who, for whatever reason, avert their gaze and avoid eye contact). Today they were as friendly as usual, waving at me from a distance, finding the way to get closer and talk.

After a quick hug and some small talk, I asked the younger one what her part is in the upcoming program at school. Then I asked the older one how she was enjoying middle school and what kind of year she is having.

“It’s OK,” she said, as she looked down at the floor.

It was not the time or the place for me to dig out the details, but I am concerned. It could be typical middle school angst, or she could have had a bad week last week. But I don’t think so. I know her and her sister too well, and I am troubled by her response.

Tomorrow I will seek out her sister at school and find out more. And if there’s any way I can help, I will.

4 thoughts on “what words don’t say – solc #10

  1. You are one of those who reads between the lines – most teachers do – and asks questions – most teachers do – and seeks to help – most teachers do.

  2. You can tell so much in a glance. Good job teacher. Please keep us updated.

  3. Rachel Z says:

    I hope your intuition was off, maybe she’s hitting puberty or woke up on the wrong side of the bed. But kudos to you for following through. We care so much for these children, I hope that they know that at some level.

  4. Kat says:

    Good for you for planning to follow up. I’m sure the girls will appreciate the concern and support. Good luck.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

