resilience – solc #3

Recently we had a very long, large limb fall from our huge wild cherry tree out back. It happened at night.  I was sitting in our kitchen, and I heard a loud, low “whoosh” during the peak of the storm.  While I can’t be sure of it, I believe I may have heard it fall. The limb is still hanging there, hung in another tree, waiting for us to take care of it.

When I saw it the next morning, I was so thankful that no damage had been done by its fall. And I was relieved that it was the only tree casualty we had. It is awful when storms damage homes and wreck lives. But to me it is also tragic when trees, especially large ones, are toppled. No amount of insurance or rebuilding can return them to their former state.

As I drove to work that morning I saw all the trees along the way that remained straight and tall. The storm the night before may have bent and tugged at them, but there they still were. When I eyed the larger ones, I thought of the length of time they had stood, through innumerable storms, and still carried on. As sturdy as they are, they are only able to remain, through the storms, because they are resilient.

I was reminded of several people I know who are resilient. Those who have lost family members to untimely deaths. And those who have faced illnesses, or estrangements, or other tragic life circumstances. Many have been bent, some broken, but because of their resilience they have been able, somehow, to awaken after the storms in their lives, and look above, and determine to carry on.

I know that one reason the trees still stand is because of their deep anchoring roots. And I am aware that resilient people have roots as well. I want to strengthen my own roots, and somehow to help others reinforce theirs.

7 thoughts on “resilience – solc #3

  1. b says:

    So, you’ll be a root reforcer. I like that. One who uses her own resiliency to bolster others. I’m sorry about your tree. I think what you’ve made out of the experience is beautiful though. Nice perspective!

  2. b says:

    Root reinforcer…. That makes more sense ;).

  3. Tara says:

    What a wonderful slice – you made an important connection, and drew an important lesson. And I, too, like the thought of being a “root reinforcer”.

  4. Wilcox Carol says:

    Love this metaphor! Reading this, I think about what reinforces my roots. How do I prepare in the good times, so I will be ready for the tree toppling storms? And how do I reinforce the roots of other trees that are shaking? Thanks for some thoughtfulness on a Sunday.

  5. Julie says:

    Resilience – one of my favorite words. I feel I am pretty resilient but am struggling as to how to pass that trait along to my kids. I love this post. We need to continue to cultivate our roots so that we can support not only ourselves but others. Thanks!

  6. elsie says:

    Broken limbs and trees are such a sad sight. I loved the thinking you had as you observed the trees that survived. Good thoughts to keep in mind.

  7. Bev says:

    What a thoughtful post. It is true – resilient people, like tall trees need those stron, deep roots to withstand the trials and tribulations of life.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

